Monday, 18 January 2016

Hillary 2015-2016 Termcard

[This is a final termcard for Hillary 2015-2016. All events take place in the Masey Room, Balliol College unless otherwise stated.]


Week 1

Visa Kurki
University of Cambridge
How Can Corporations Be Legal Persons? Lessons From Social Ontology
Thursday, 21 January 2016, 17:00

Week 2

David Enoch
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Is General Jurisprudence Interesting?
Friday, 29 January 2016, 17:00
CHANGE OF VENUE: Lecture Room 23, Balliol College

Week 3

Jonathan Crowe
University of Queensland
Holistic Constitutional Implications
Thursday, 4 February 2016, 17:00

Week 4

Paolo Sandro
Salford University
Ignorance of the Law Cannot Excuse: on the Externality of Law and the Ascription of Legal Responsibility
Thursday, 11 February 2016, 17:00

Week 5

Robert Mullins
University of Oxford and University of Queensland
‘Legal’ and ‘Legally’
Thursday, 18 February 2016, 17:00

Week 6

Before the panel, at 3pm, there will be a presentation by Bill Asquith from Hart Publishing on publishing DPhil dissertations. All research students are most welcome.

Chair: John Finnis
Participants: Timothy Endicott, Joshua Getzler, [TBC]
Book Launch: The Continuity of Legal Systems in Theory and Practice
by Benjamin Spagnolo
Thursday, 25 February 2016, 16:00
Special venue: the Blue Boar Theatre
The event will be followed by a wine reception

Week 7

Gregory Bligh
Université Paris 2 Panthéon-Assas
Hart as an Oxford Ordinary Language Philosopher
Thursday, 3 March 2016, 17:00
Special venue: Maison Française d'Oxford, 2-10 Norham Road
The event will be followed by a wine reception

Week 8

Kevin Tobia
Yale University
Who is the Reasonable Person?
Thursday, 10 March 2016, 17:00

Week 9

Tom Adams
University of Cambridge
[TBC]
Thursday, 17 March 2016, 17:00