Sunday, 26 April 2015

Trinity 2014-2015 Termcard

[This is a final termcard for Trinity 2014/15. All events take place in the Law Faculty's Senior Common Room unless otherwise stated.]


Week 1

Mikołaj Barczentewicz
DPhil Candidate, University College, University of Oxford
Can there be a legal power to change the rule of recognition?
Thursday, 30 April 2015, 16:00

Week 2

Stephen E. Sachs
Associate Professor of Law, Duke Law School, Duke University
Originalism as a Theory of Legal Change
Co-organized with the Constitutional Studies Programme and Public Law Discussion Group
Commentators: Professor Nick Barber, Dr Scot Peterson
Special venue: Manor Road Building, Seminar Room C
The event will be followed by a wine reception
Tuesday, 5 May 2015, 17:00

The Law Is What We Say It Is
Commentators: Professor Richard Ekins, Mikołaj Barczentewicz
Wednesday, 6 May 2015, 15:00

Frederick Wilmot-Smith
Examination Fellow, All Soul's College, University of Oxford
Privatising Private Law
Special venue: White & Case Room, Law Faculty
Thursday, 7 May 2015, 16:00

Week 3

Sylvia Rich
DPhil Candidate, Balliol College, University of Oxford
Punishment Theory and the Corporate Entity
Special venue: White & Case Room, Law Faculty
Thursday, 14 May 2015, 16:00

Week 4

Damiano Canale and Giovanni Tuzet
University of Milan
The Rule of Law: An Inferentialist Account
Thursday, 21 May 2015, 16:00

Week 5

Yossi Nehushtan, Keele University
John Danaher, NUI Galway
Freedom of Conscience and Conscientious Objection: How Free We Really Are?
Thursday, 28 May 2015, 16:00

SPECIAL EVENT - Co-organized with the Oxford Human Rights Hub
Tarunabh Khaitan
Associate Professor of Law, University of Oxford
Book launch for: 'A Theory of Discrimination Law' (OUP 2015)
Special venue: Rhodes House
Thursday, 29 May 2015, 17:00

Week 6

Annette Zimmermann
DPhil Candidate in Politics, University of Oxford
Political Participation and the Argument from Affected Interests
Thursday, 4 June 2015, 16:00

Week 7

Marcin Matczak
Associate Professor of Law, University of Warsaw
Three types of intention in lawmaking
Thursday, 11 June 2015, 16:00

Week 8

Denise Wohlwend
PhD Candidate, University of Fribourg
The International Rule of Law: An Integrated Account
Thursday, 18 June 2015, 16:00